IF I COULD BE ANYONE ELSE IN THE WORLD I WOULD BE DAVID BECKHAM – BUT NOT THIS SUMMER…I’D PREFER TO BE RYAN GIGGS

David Beckham has long been a favorite of mine since as long as I can remember. His brilliant free kicks inspired me as a young player to try to reach that same standard. His emotions sometimes get the best of him as we saw in England’s 1998 World Cup match against heated rival Argentina and in a recent match between his current club the L.A. Galaxy and the San Jose Earthquakes. He received red cards in both games for unsportsmanlike conduct to which those who played soccer with me growing up knew I might have gotten in a bit of trouble from time to time as well.

Image

In the last few years, Beckham spent much of his time campaigning for the Olympic Games to be held in London in 2012. As the Olympics are approaching, many can give credit to Beckham for his involvement in bringing the games to jolly old London. In fact, Beckham was just one of the carriers of the torch for his country which is a huge honor; however, Beckham was left off the Great Britain soccer team roster. Beckham insists he isn’t upset for being left off but admits he would like to have represented his home country in the 2012 Olympics.

Image

His absence reminds me of a joke I heard in 1998, after his red card against Argentina: What do England and Posh Spice have in common? They’ve both been screwed by Beckham. Karma must have finally come back to haunt Beckham as we can now say England screwed David Beckham back. At the end of the day, if I could be anyone else in the world I would be David Beckham. But, not this summer. He’ll be watching the games as a spectator as much as I will. I’m sure he’ll have much better seats than my couch, but I bet the slap that left him off the roster will be stinging him throughout the entire summer. Fans of Beckham like me feel it too; so here’s to Beckham, but at least we get to see the 40 year old Ryan Giggs in international play for the first time.  

 Image

Leave a Reply

